Midterm Portfolio

I included my initial reflection on the following portfolio’s pdf, but in case someone has no interest in seeing my portfolio I will also report it here.

I have come to the conclusion that each semester in the design field is particularly hard in its own way. During the last semester, given that it was my first semester as a design major, I was dealing with trying to learn as much as possible in the shortest time possible. For this semester, I once again decided to take on a heavy workload by taking four studio classes. While time management is definitely not an issue anymore, the problem which I instead have to mostly deal with is the creative process. Due to the overload of creative expectation of each of my classes, I am currently having a creative breakdown and I seem not to be able to create decent and innovative design work. I never thought I ever was a great designer, but this semester forced me to face the fact that I may never be able to improve if I do not get out of this crisis. The fact that I now have much more freedom in the assignments (including setting due dates) definitely is not helping. In contrast to this, since this is also my first semester as a FAD employee, and as an employee, I am given strict deadlines by my clients, I have been able to craft decent creative design jobs (the FLATS coffee-mug for instance). With that being said, I cannot say that I have sufficient work to be proud of. In terms of production and expectation for the semester I am at a fairly good point, however, in terms of personal achievement and satisfaction in what I do, I am far behind compared to where I believe I am supposed to be at this point of the semester. Putting these negative points aside, I am currently working on a variety of projects which I believe would be good assets to display in my final portfolio, and am buoyant that I will improve in my work and at least partly overcome my creative crisis.

Putting these negative points aside, I am currently working on a variety of projects which I believe would be good assets to display in my final portfolio, and am buoyant that I will improve in my work and at least partly overcome my creative crisis.

Here’s the link to my portfolio: midterm portfolio 

Enjoy!

Leave a comment